Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Trouble sleeping through the night
Quote | Reply
Any feedback greatly appreciated!

I am still VERY new to the TRI world…but I really love it!….I am an early bird and prefer to get my workouts in before work (5-6:15AM)…however sometimes my schedule just doesn't allow it. So I will do an evening workout around 5-7PM.

Recently I have had trouble sleeping more than 3hrs straight at a time. I'll wake up and eventually fall back asleep and continue to do that for the next 3 or 4 hours.

I am usually up no later than 4am every day and try my best to be in bed by 9-10pm each night. Im usually on the go between work/training most of the day. Now that I have to get an AM & PM workout in a few times a week I thought I would sleep better at night.

My diet is really healthy and consistent. Whole/Natural foods. I eat every 3 hrs (meals/snacks) most the time. Always refuel during or within 30mins of a workout.

I do not wake up hungry/dehydrated or because I have to use the bathroom.

I'd really like to avoid taking anything to assist me in sleeping…..any suggestions?

Thank you!!
Quote Reply
Re: Trouble sleeping through the night [TShifty] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Been doing that for years on and off particularly if I late before bed. I just accept it and roll with it. Doing just that now actually. In bed 3 hours ago and now wide awake doing this. I'll sleep in a short while then get up for the day.

I stick to the routine of going to bed at roughly the same time and getting up the same time. Mostly it works sometimes a few days in a row it doesn't. Maybe stop overthinking it and just go with it.
In Reply To:

Trust me I’m a doctor!
Well, I have a PhD :-)
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
1. No evening workouts.
2. No caffeine, chocolate, candy/sugar, sports/energy drinks after 2pm in afternoon.
3. Reduce life stress, family, work, social, etc.
4. Consistent bedtime every night.