Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Sub 10 Ironman Training... Questions [motoguy128] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
motoguy128 wrote:
Bryancd wrote:
hogfish1 wrote:
Triathletetoth wrote:
My first ironman after one year of short course tri training and only 3 months of ironman training was a 10:05 at imc.

What you need
swim 300 m in under 4:20.
Bike 3.5 watts per kg at lactate threshold.( if your bigger then 180 lbs you will need more for all the hills on that course)

Run with the ability to do a sub 3:10 marathon. Or 5:30 min mile at the track.

If you can do all those goals then you are capable . Although technique means everything over such a long duration there are still alot of variables.

Welcome to slow twitch were your goals are put down by people that can't reach theirs good luck.

I meet all of that criteria right now except for biking. I don't even know what it means to "bike 3.5 watts per kg at lactate threshold". I'm new to biking so I assume that I can't meet that standard yet. Yes, I noticed many people here are negative. They focus on why I can't as appose to why I can. Thanks a lot for your input.

Isn't the implication in this response he claims to be able to run a 3:10 Marathon? Or is he saying he can run a single 5:30 mile, which is a meaningless metric?

a 5:30 mile isn't even that fast. If you were a weak swimmer and a so-so cyclist, you need to run a hell of a lot better than that for sub 10. 5:30 should be your 5k pace IMO.

Better to aim high than be marginal.

I don't think we're trying to be negative.... just realistic with target metrics.