Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Power Meter or Sexy Race Wheels?
Quote | Reply
I am pretty new to triathlons and I only have a certain amount of funds, so should I buy a power meter or some aero wheels for my new tri bike?
Quote Reply
Re: Power Meter or Sexy Race Wheels? [mdakolios] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
buy a powertap wheel and an aero jacket. done.
Quote Reply
Re: Power Meter or Sexy Race Wheels? [BSUdude] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Powertap and an aero helmet.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Both (eventually) :-)

You don't need a PM to guide improve fitness. Many have done without, but I have liked having a PM over all things that I have purchased for training. I am one of those that needs a little more guidance in building that engine and without having a coach I can see post ride if my training was actually a decent effort or just "felt" good. I call my PM's truth meters as to whether I am really hitting the training targets or just deceiving myself with how the session felt.

You can always buy speed, but building that engine to push that bike is a lot more challenging. Which order you decide to do it seems like a personal choice. By the way I owned my first power meter for a year before I really committed to changing my training structure so if training a certain way isn't in the plan the power meter then is not a good purchase. It was during that time of just posing with the power meter and looking at the data post ride that slowly began to influence how I viewed my lack of commitment to training and pointed out my flaws while training. :-) In my case it was helpful to find out that I was a slacker while training.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
If you get a powermeter you will get faster quicker. Which means you will end up riding with faster friends. Usually faster friends have nicer toys (wheels) they will let you borrow.
Quote Reply
Re: Power Meter or Sexy Race Wheels? [coolny29] [ In reply to ]