Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Ironman Chattanooga Race Report -- First Amateur [mercuryvapor] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
i cut down to 28-30 hrs a week seeing pt's and was able to squeeze in some 22-24hr workout weeks, considering if you take fri-sun off; work 12 hrs on monday, you can get in 2 hrs on week days and long training days on weekend.

mercuryvapor wrote:
31CapeHorn wrote:
Incredible race. I'm also a dentist, in your age group, and also did IMchoo, albeit a couple hours slower than you. I have a practice, a wife and four kids -- 13-16hours/week simply maxes me out. To be honest, I'm not sure I could train that much if I did have the time. I think I'd burn out. I admire your commitment to it, and the best part is that it paid off. Congrats.

I commend Borden for the commitment and mental fortitude he has.

I'm a fellow dentist as well. 15-16 hours max is what I could probably put together consistently without it putting a major strain on my family and killing the practice. 25 hours training/week + seeing crazy patients all week = burnout for me. I will be doing my first IM next year and plan on cutting down from 4 days of work to 3.5 to help accommodate more training. Fortunately my wife is the other dentist in my practice so she won't mind the extra workload:P

2024: Bevoman, Galveston, Alcatraz, Marble Falls, Santa Cruz
Quote Reply
Re: Ironman Chattanooga Race Report -- First Amateur [Runner Rick] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Runner Rick wrote:
Borden wrote:
jonnyo wrote:

now time to get that run down and pass less than 9h on the course!!!! Keep the good work!

I've advised Brian that I need to run a stack of 100 miles/wk through the winter, but he never seems very receptive to my suggestions.

Yeah, you're running sucks. Even I beat you on the run in Chatt.
Seriously, you two really need to work on your run. I out ran you both :-) Too bad for me that there's swimming and cycling involved, too.