Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
should I try to gain some muscle?
Quote | Reply
I'm pretty new to triathlons (done a few sprints a year off-and-on for the last 3-4 yrs). This coming year I want to try and improve in sprints, and maybe do some olympic distance tris if I can fit them in. I really suck at swimming, so I'm getting some lessons over the winter to work on that, but I was also thinking of doing some weight training to increase strength. I'm 6'0 and 144 soaking wet with very skinny legs. Does it make sense to try and gain 5-10 lbs of muscle doing core and leg specific exercises? I searched the forums and didn't find much info about if gaining strength/muscle can help skinny guys like me.
Quote Reply
Re: should I try to gain some muscle? [kittenmittons] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Can help for cycling, but nothing you can't achieve actually cycling. Swimming is more technique-related and the lessons will be thousands of times more beneficial. Running also doesn't really require any weightlifting. Doing core exercises will benefit all three, but actual "weightlifting" and putting on weight might not be what you want to do if you have triathlon performance in mind.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
My 2 cents:
You probably need more muscles to swim and cycle fast. Most of that should come from swimming and biking though.

Will triathlon specific strength training make you faster?
Sure.

Is it a good use of time?
Well - if you do all the other essential workouts (14-25 hours per week), yes it is a good use of time.
Much more effective way of getting fast than working or shopping or hanging out with the wife.
On the other hand, if you are going to skip the core run bike and swim workouts to lift weights, it is not a good idea at all.
Quote Reply
Re: should I try to gain some muscle? [dirtymangos] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
dirtymangos wrote:
My 2 cents: