Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

racing with Polar S710
Quote | Reply
I was wondering how to set up my 710 to record all 3 events in races. I'm sure I'll have to turn off the auto start or it will stop soon after I begin the swim. Do you use the split button to note the beginning and end of a section or do you track each leg in its own exercise? this would seem like a lot of work while racing. Sorry, I'm still learning all of the things this thing can do.

thanks
Quote Reply
Re: racing with Polar S710 [Barry S.] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
i would do the following.

first off, i would sit for 30-45 minutes and read over the manual. then, i would make an initial call to Polar to go over your initial questions. then i would practive using it for a couple of days and then call Polar again with your new questions.

I just take splits at each transition, as the overall time is not as important to me my splits during the race. it can get a bit in the way though when taking off the wetsuit.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I start the "stopwatch" just before entering the water, then use the split button to mark T1 and T2. I also use the split button to mark things like stopping to fix a flat and the moment I begin riding again (so I can fool myself into thinking about how much faster I "really" was), or any other strange thing that happens during the race. After the race and with the help of the official timing results, it's easy to "reconstruct the evidence" and evaluate your results.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply