Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
question for mechanics on changing from mechanical to Di2
Quote | Reply
*Disclaimer - I am not a mechanic and barely mechanically inclined, so go easy on me.....

Been talking through upgrading my 2019 Cervelo P2 (rim brake) from mechanical to Di2. A friend is gonna help.

Anyone on here done it and have any advice/things they wish they knew? I dont see why this isn't possible. Am I wrong?

It seems hard to find a whole groupset (TT specific). I may call a few places to see if they can/would swap out road bike shifters for bar end shifters in their groupset.

What size wires would I need (I'm certain I wont measure properly)

Last question that I have for now, is would i need grommets to keep the wires tight (I think I do) and what size and where would I get those (assume internet purchase would be easy enough but asking anyway)?

I'd love any input that any of you have.

Thanks!
Last edited by: curdog16: Mar 20, 24 17:48
Quote Reply
Re: question for mechanics on changing from mechanical to Di2 [curdog16] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
There are many challenges and the biggest question is 'why'. As in going DI2 won't get you any speed benefit, and will cost you $$$$$. Ok, I've just moved 10sp metchanical to full new Di2 hydro disc and the one thing I really like is being able to change gear from base bars, but I equally am hating the syncro shift you end up having to use (12sp).

So some challenges you have. At moment only bar end shifters are the 11sp, and whilst those are one of the few items that can work with 12sp, you'd need to connect them to the comms module to get the latest firmware installed before it will recognise.

Not sure about cable routeing on the p2 - where are you mounting the battery and then running the cables to the shifters/mech.