Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

left hand (ring, pinky finger) numb post MS150
Quote | Reply
Did the MS150 this weekend (Houston-Austin). The two fingers mentioned above are kind of numb. Thoughts/suggestions? I did feel like I was putting a lot of pressure on my hands in the drops, would different hand positions be better? What other suggestions should I consider?

I've never had this happen before. But, my longest ride to this point was about 75, several times, and then the bike leg of a HIM.

Thanks!
Quote Reply
Re: left hand (ring, pinky finger) numb post MS150 [nycowl] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I had a rather severe case of this when I first started riding. After one ride I had numbness and a loss of power in my grip.

One thing I noticed was that I had the tendency of bending my wrists in to form a 90 degree angle. I'm no doctor, but for me I believe this was the cause and was a bit like "Carpel tunnel". IOW teh severe angle of teh wrists caused some "compression" and or damage of some sort to the nerves that go to the hand.

What I did was a couple of things. Made sure to ride with my wrists not bent, Changed hand positions often and over time my lower back muscles became stronger so I actually ended up with less pressure on my hands.

In my case my numbness went away in about a week but it took a good 2-3 weeks to regain full strength. I didn't go, but I'd suggest going to see a doctor, just in case.

~Matt
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply