Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

front wheel mounting
Quote | Reply
I'm a noob. Front wheels look like they can be mounted either way, like there's no rotation direction for them. Is this true?
That said, I've noticed some tires have a rotation direction and some don't... for those that don't, you should just be able to slap on a tire any way on the wheel, and you can put the wheel on whichever way you want?

Finally, I have a hed 3 tri-spoke front. Does it matter which way I mount this wheel? There seems to be an opening on one side for the tire stem, does that belong on the drive or non-drive side, or does it matter?

--
mcoker
Quote Reply
Re: front wheel mounting [mcoker] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
In Reply To:
I'm a noob. Front wheels look like they can be mounted either way, like there's no rotation direction for them. Is this true?
That said, I've noticed some tires have a rotation direction and some don't... for those that don't, you should just be able to slap on a tire any way on the wheel, and you can put the wheel on whichever way you want?

Finally, I have a hed 3 tri-spoke front. Does it matter which way I mount this wheel? There seems to be an opening on one side for the tire stem, does that belong on the drive or non-drive side, or does it matter?

The "tradition" is to have the quick release to the left (facing forward), and the tire label on the right and adjacent to the valve hole. I believe the tri-spoke has the valve opening on the left side, though it's been a long time since I had mine, so I don't recall if they are symmetrical.

Rotation direction on a tire is silly. Get slick treads.

----------------------------------
"Go yell at an M&M"
Quote Reply
Re: front wheel mounting [klehner] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply