Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
canada vs. america
Quote | Reply
 lately so many posts seem pragmatic and gear-y that i thought a philosophical debate was in order. bearing in mind that i'm a social scientist and believe there's no 'right' answer (or if there is, that isn't the point anyway), i usually enjoy playing devil's advocate a bit and asking questions that get us to mulling on things.

to whit: why is canada so much better at triathlon than america?

discuss.

http://howtobeswiss.blogspot.ch/
Quote Reply
Re: canada vs. america [iron_mike] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
1. We have more major professional sports that dominate our attention [Canda has pro sports also, but not as many].

2. Triathlon money is much less when compared to other activities. It is much less in relation to our minor *sports* like motocross and skateboarding ... not even counting the big sports.

3. Americans, in general, care even less about triathlons than we do soccer ... and that is not caring a great deal. Someone from another country could say "Ha! We're better than the USA in triathlons?", and the American would look right at them and say "We do triathlons?"

Last year I saw both tri-events broadcast on TV ... The Chicago Tri, and Kona. 2 events out of 365 days w/ many Americans having 100+ cable channels. We simply are not at all interested.

I wonder how many talented high school/college aged athletes even know about triathloning? It is not advertised/promoted as well as other sports in the USA [but, that's another thread topic].

--------------------------------------

=======================
-- Every morning brings opportunity;
Each evening offers judgement. --
Last edited by: TripleThreat: Feb 29, 04 23:43
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Didn't realize they were.

Male long course: about even

Female long course: Canada in a rout

Male short course: about even

Female short course: U.S. in a rout
Quote Reply