Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Leg Length Discrepancy
Quote | Reply
I've got about a 6 millimeter leg length discrepancy and have a heel lift in my running shoe. I'm told that 6mm shouldn't be an issue for cycling.......however, I was wondering who, if anyone, uses a shim between cleat and shoe to adjust for any (greater or less than 6mm) leg length differential.

Thanks
Quote Reply
Re: Leg Length Discrepancy [Tri Slowly] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
My wife was having some knee pain last week after riding her new bike for a few months. Turns out she has one leg 8mm longer than the other, so the LBS put 4mm worth of shims in her cleats and everything is cool. They thought a full 8mm would be too much of a shock, so 4mm was the choice, and shee feels much better. I would split the difference, but i am no doctor.

--------------------------------------------------------
John Behme
Charlotte, NC
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
You should definately look into a shim for your cycling shoes. I discovered about 5 years ago that i had a difference and now have a 9mm shim and it has done the trick. 6mm is not much your right, but try to go 3mm on that side and see what it feels like. Not many people have the same length legs out there, most are very minimal differences, but it only makes sense to look into getting into figured out. The LeWedges (I think) make shims that come in .5mm thickness. You'll also maybe have to get longer screws too for that cleat.
Good luck.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
This was just discussed recently; you need a lift between your shoe and sole. Lifting only the heel is liking running in heels. I have a lift put between the shoe base and bottom. Also in my skis,cleats etc.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
One question: how do you know you have a leg length discrepancy?