Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Zwift – Talk to me like I’m 12
Quote | Reply
Hi all,

So, yes, I’ve done a google search but there seems to be so much “assumed knowledge” that it’s taking me forever just to get my basic questions answered. I have questions about zwift and I’m totally new to any sort of computerized trainer.

Some background on me: been doing tri’s since 2001 – lots of half’s, oly’s, sprints and one IM – I’m a total midpacker and just do it for fun. Cycling is by far my weakest of the three.

I currently train in my basement with a 1985 steel trek Elance roadbike on a mag trainer that someone gave me in 2002. Been training this way ever since.

Never used a powermeter and barely know what one is. I don’t have my bike attached to any computer screen. I look at a wall and listen to music. I don’t know what strava is. I use my cateye and train on cadence and the gears on the bike to do timed sets. I don’t have a garmin or anything like that. I have a timex sports watch.

My question is – starting from scratch: how much would a zwift set up cost in total (including everything, monthly fees, etc...)? If I don’t have an extra laptop around – could I hook it up to a flatscreen tv? What is strava and do I need it to use a Zwift?

I've been on ST long enough to realize this sort of set up seems unheard of/archaic for most of you. I'm fully aware that I'm training in the dark ages. So again, talk to me like I’m 12… and thanks!

Frank
Quote Reply
Re: Zwift – Talk to me like I’m 12 [Frank] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Did you check out the articles in the Indoor Training section that have been posted over the past several weeks? They may or may not have the information you're looking for but they're a good start point.
Quote Reply
Re: Zwift – Talk to me like I’m 12 [HandHeartCrown] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Wait. There are articles on this site? (pink) No, I haven't but I'll check them out - thanks!