Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Your Progression to WC Qualification
Quote | Reply
I'm interested in hearing people's progression from total beginner to WC Qualification in either 140.6 or 70.3. Where did you start, what was your background, how many years, how many races, etc.

I don't think I will ever come close to qualifying, but have some friends who could get there. Interested in hearing different people's journeys.
Quote Reply
Re: Your Progression to WC Qualification [TexasTacos] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I have 10 Ironman finishes so far and hoping to make to get into the legacy.

I do have Ironman Cozumel in a month, training has been going very well and I just might be able to qualify there. I would much prefer to qualify in a race but will take a legacy slot when I get there if not.

Once, I was fast. But I got over it.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Posted this once before but here is my progression

* Started running in Spring 2017, First Triathlon was fall 2017

Half Ironmans:
* First HalfIM was Hawaii in 2019. Raced <10 weeks after breaking my collarbone - Finished in 5:00:01 (that 1 second still kills me haha)
* Waco 2019 - 4:41
* Maine 2021 - 4:18
* NC 2021 (right after my first IM) - 4:18

Ironman
* Ironman Indiana 2021 - 9:12 KQ

Its been a bumpy ride since 2022 - suffered an ankle injury training for Kona - went on to finish after being in a walking boot on the plane there. Was ramping backup to run the Boston when I broke my foot this April. Since then I race 70.3 worlds this year (4:28) and just finished the Chicago Marathon with a new PR (2:42). Returning to Fulls next year at Challenge Roth.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply