Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

XLab Torpedo vs Profile Design Aero HC System
Quote | Reply
Looking for a new front end hydration system. I've been using a Profile Design Aerodrink system for a few years and have always experienced bad splashing and leaking. I looked at the torhans but want to look into a semi interchangable system that i dont have to entirely remove between training and racing. From what I understand the torpedo and hc system would allow me to use regular bottles while training and the manufactured bottles with straws during race.

Does anyone have experience with either or both that could give me insight? Leaking, unexpected bottle launch, etc?
Quote Reply
Re: XLab Torpedo vs Profile Design Aero HC System [somar77] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I've had and used/raced with both, and have to recommend the Xlab Torpedo. Narrower profile, computer mount out front (i.e. much better visibility), and straw that can be tucked down out of the wind. It tested well in the wind tunnel, although I never saw an apples to apples comparison between the two.

I had some launching issues with the Aero HC but they claim to have fixed it, and they shipped me a new part (that's discussed on a thread on here somewhere). But I haven't tried it yet as I'm happy with the Torpedo. PD customer support was great throughout those issues.

Advantage of the Aero HC is less spillage when refilling on the go, b/c of the raised refill part. The Aero HC is easier to close as it's a hard plastic cap that snaps closed, whereas the Torpedo's is a soft rubber cap that is a bit harder to seal completely. I never had any leaking issues with the Aero HC. The straw is always there in your face, and some people seem to like that. I just don't need a straw in my face to remember to drink.

There are of course others who believe only a sucker would buy either one, when simpler and cheaper solutions are possible.

Good luck.