Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Venge ViAS -- Perspective from someone who has ridden/raced it a bunch
Quote | Reply
We've got a thread that existed pre-(public) release, as well as a new "backlash" thread that seemed to be full of mostly speculation. I decided to start this thread because I realized I am in a somewhat unique position. Namely, I'm an amateur racer who has actually been on the bike for a while (>1,000 miles), and in fact I've raced it for that "magical" 6.5-7h duration alluded to in that other thread.

I figured I could stick to factual information in this post, albeit n=1. On this forum and other social media, I've seen a number of comments that seem to be speculation from people who have never been on the bike (a Cervelo rep, for one) -- and often it is many people repeating speculation that can be traced to the same source.

Others have seen, demo'ed, or owned the bike a short(er) period of time. Those opinions and first-hand experiences are equally valid, but I think we should consider context in any of these discussions.

A bit of background: I'm an amateur racer based in the US. I'm generally a fan of Specialized bikes, but that allegiance has been earned. I have owned and ridden many top-level bikes, including those from Specialized. For me, the Tarmac is a benchmark in terms of handling and performance. Over the years I have found that people may prefer other bikes, but it is very hard/nearly impossible to find something about the Tarmac that is anything other than solid. When I make comparisons, I tend to relate them back to the subjective characteristics of the Tarmac.

Yes, I have personal bias -- we all do. I do not get free product from Specialized.

I have experience with several iterations of the S-Works Roubaix, as well as the S-Works SL2, SL3 and SL4 Tarmac, the (old) Venge, and the ViAS. I have at least 1,000 but in some cases more than 10,000 miles on each of those frames.