Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Triathlon Mythbusters- give me some!
Quote | Reply
I'm a USAT coach and wanted to do a slightly more fun presentation for an upcoming bike shop open house. Having been around the sport for about 15 years, you hear a lot of hand-me-down wisdom that is either misleading or flat out wrong. My day job is at a university library. For this presentation I am going to use documented research and hard science to either prove or disprove common swimming, biking, running and nutrition "myths" ala Discovery Channel's mythbusters series.

I've got quite a few to work with, but was wondering what ST could come up with. Some examples I'm thinking about are: "Let air out of your tires if it is going to be a hot race because they could expand and explode" (Sorry physics and the ideal gas law says otherwise). "Caffeine is a diuretic and can accelerate dehydration" The international society of sports nutrition would disagree with that one.

This could turn into a fun ongoing column for Slowtwitch or Triathlete Mag. What ya got for me?

Chris
Quote Reply
Re: Triathlon Mythbusters- give me some! [Sweet] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Lifting weights will make you a faster cyclist

core muscles are essential to going faster edit: I guess this could be having a strong core is essential to swimming and/or biking and/or running.

just about anything Joe friel writes

Brian Stover USAT LII
Accelerate3 Coaching
Insta

Last edited by: desert dude: Feb 25, 10 18:14
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
the opposite of dessert dude

Randy Christofferson(http://www.rcmioga.blogspot.com

Insert Doubt. Erase Hope. Crush Dreams.
Quote Reply
Re: Triathlon Mythbusters- give me some! [rcmioga] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
In Reply To:
the opposite of dessert dude
x2
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
that you need sodium supplements and 200 grams of protein a day
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply