Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Trainer Tire Necessary on Rear Wheel When Using Trainer?
Quote | Reply
I just got a Kurt Kinetic Rock and Roll Trainer. My neighbor actually gave it to me for free as he only used it a few times and has since taken up mountain biking. I know total score! When he gave me the trainer he also gave me a training tire for the rear wheel. It's there to prevent wearing down your road/race tires unevenly. It's kind of a pain to be swapping out the trainer tire and regular tires. How many people actually do this? I ride with my Willilams 85's and was planning to leave them on the trainer. I didn't know if it was a big deal to swap out the rear Conti with a Training Tire? It's also supposed to be quieter? I've never rode a trainer so I'm new to it.
Quote Reply
Re: Trainer Tire Necessary on Rear Wheel When Using Trainer? [mwanner1] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Should be quieter, but that is about it outside of wearing down your other tires. I use the same tires for on trainer/road then throw on race tires.
Quote Reply
Re: Trainer Tire Necessary on Rear Wheel When Using Trainer? [jph437] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
This is what I figured. I kind of thought running the same road/trainer tires would be fine. It seems like a real pain to swap back and forth with the rear tire, especially this time of year when it's fall and you're not in full blown trainer mode yet.
Quote Reply
Re: Trainer Tire Necessary on Rear Wheel When Using Trainer? [mwanner1] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I bought a crappy rear wheel and put a trainer tire on it and leave it by the trainer. Then I just swap out rear wheels when I need to. I don't know the validity of the trainer tire vs. normal tire argument, but can say the wear hasn't been much on the trainer tire (maybe I didnt ride enough!).
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply