Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Top Runners in half and full ironman distances
Quote | Reply
I am just curious to see who has taken the path of being a serious runner or having a serious running backround and started to train and race seriously for half and full ironman distances.

I have read plenty about good cyclist moving to triathlons. There have been plenty of quick runners I am sure that have tried triathlons but I am looking for the ones that took to it seriously, not just dabbled in it, and what where their running times and their half/full ironman times?

Thanks in advance.

-------------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.westtexasendurance.com - Powered by Brooks, Powerbar and pizza.
Quote Reply
Re: Top Runners in half and full ironman distances [runner-x] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I forgot to mention that I am a newbie and don't know much about the backrounds of the past or present athletes in triathlon.

Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
IMHO, If you are a rockstar runner and get competitive on the bike and are competent on the swim then you will do AWESOME in the half and full IM distances. To be great at sprints and or Olys you pretty much have to be great at everything.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Two names come to mind...Ryan Grote and Darren Shearer. Grote was a pretty good distance runner out of NJ. I believe he was around 2:15 for the marathon (could be a little off on that) and sub 50 for 10 miles. He did Placid a few years back. I think he did ok. Shearer was a top steeplechaser and 1500 meter runner. Ran the trials. I also believe he went around 3:55 for the mile. He's racing out of Florida. He's pretty competitive. You can google to find their results.

pat

Pat Dwyer
@pdwyer99
Quote Reply
Re: Top Runners in half and full ironman distances [Bibendum] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply