Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

The Value of Coaching
Quote | Reply
Hello,

I would like to hear feedback on what other members feel the value of coaching would be for me. It is a question of balancing how much I pay for coaching versus how much I could spend on races. As I live in Taiwan, I have limited number of high quality full and half IM distance races I can travel too without flying, which ramps up the costs quickly!

So my background is this:
Nationally ranked competitive swimmer in Canada until age 15. Swam 53 minutes at IM Taiwan.
Biked recreationally; fairly strong cyclists now. (2:23 at 70.3WC on Mt Tremblant course, 5:23 IM split on a hilly and windy Taiwan course.)
Running: NEVER a runner. First HIM, ran 2:04 in 2013. Ran 1:41 at Mt Tremblant, 3:37 at IM Taiwan. Currently, I love running and I am decent, but far from fast. Ran 3:20 42.2km during a training run that I decided to go the marathon distance on halfway through simply because I was feeling fine and having fun. I think if I really pushed it, I could do 3:05-3:10 in an open marathon in under 22 degrees C conditions.

Three years ago I was 70lbs heavier than I am now and completely inactive. I have ramped up my training volume with no injuries save a broken tibia from a car crash. That was screwed together and screws removed with little longterm consequences. My massage therapist warns me of ongoing weakness in my hips and glutes that I have been trying to address with workouts I found online. (basic core work, trx suspension moves)

Training:
I have loads of free time and love to train. Highly motivated, and train about 25-30 hours. Workouts are generally based on a general plan, trial and error, and the simple fact of how I feel that day, what I feel works and so on. My run improvement has come simply from running 5 times a week, a flat long run of 30-35km, a hill run around 25-30km, and a tempo run.