Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
The Calories in Versus Calories Out Debate
Quote | Reply
Ready...set...go!

So my understanding of weight loss is that if you burn more calories than you consumer, thus creating a deficit, you will burn fat as an auxiliary fuel source, resulting in weight loss. By that logic, operating on a 2,000kcal/day diet, you could eat 10 meals of chicken and broccoli or two meals of big macs, so long as you are burning more calories than you consume, you should still lose weight. Perhaps you will also need open heart surgery, but in terms of the way your body operates, is that a fair assessment?

I ask because I manage restaurants for a living. Out of the store I eat healthy. I count my calories every day, both kcal in and out. Sometimes in the store healthy meal options end up more carb dense than I would prefer. Sometimes I like to eat a bit of ice cream at home. Or have pizza occasionally. Not the ideal athlete's diet for sure. But I do measure everything, track everything and do not put anything in my mouth that I do not log. In month one I've lost 5lbs. Per my doctor I have about 35lbs more I could lose and 8%bf that could come off. That would put me at 13%bf as a 21 y/o.

I am training 6 day/wk at least 12-15 hours/week.

I guess I'm curious if I'm sabotaging myself immensely by not eating perfectly clean, even though I'm creating the deficit? I don't eat junky by any means, just not as perfect as a professional athlete likely does. Not sure I want to eat perfect, I like food and want to have a balance of stuff I like to eat and stuff I should eat.

Anyone had success with a larger weight loss like mine? Time frame? I guess in all reality if it's 6mo to lose the weight and be in fairly good shape, that's really not so bad, but as much as I'm training I kind of expected the scale to just start dropping drastically.
Quote Reply