Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Stop me from throwing away my Garmin and/or PT
Quote | Reply
I've been using a Garmin 500 for a few years now. Never upgraded because it does everything I need it to. That is until recently. I ride with a HRM connected and my Cylceops SL+ PT. Haven't had problems with that set up for about 75 hours, until the last week or two. 3 of my last 4 outdoor rides, at some point the Garmin auto pauses while riding and the PT won't reconnect after that. The HRM never drops. My next step is to replace the batteries in the PT but they shouldn't be dead after approx 75 hours. I did about an hour and a half ride Saturday outdoors with no drops but had two drops the prior week. I've done a 2 hour ride on Zwift with no issue after the dropping began as well. This is part of the reason why I don't think the battery is going to solve my issue. I've googled and tried to find the reason. Found a few threads regarding the subject but they've all turned into "You don't need autopause on" debates.

Anybody had this happen? Anyone know a solution? Pretty useless having a PT that only read 7 miles of my 35 mile ride this morning.
Quote Reply
Re: Stop me from throwing away my Garmin and/or PT [rjrankin] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Have you tried it without the heart rate strap? And, 75 hours is a lot. Mine needed changing monthly sometimes. And, you don't need auto pause. It's suuuuuper annoying. Disable it.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
While you shouldn't need to change the batteries after 75 hours, I would try it anyway. I've had bizarre dropouts like you describe in the past get resolved by a battery change.
Quote Reply
Re: Stop me from throwing away my Garmin and/or PT [nickwhite] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply