Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Runs on the Run
Quote | Reply
I am sure this has been covered before, so feel free to slap me and reply with the link...

But, as a MOP 140.6 athlete, I have experienced less than "ideal" marathons.

I adopted my nutrition plan from Trevor Wurtele, since it was easy to follow....perhaps that was my first mistake....I am not a pro athlete.

Here has been my race day plan:

Pre-Race
2 White Bagels with Strawberry Jelly
Sip EFS Sports Drink (Lemon Lime)
1 GU (Salted Caramel) 15 minutes before swim

T1
Salted Caramel GU

Bike
3 24oz bottles of EFS (4 scoops each) over bike duration (192 Calories/hour) - I have averaged 6 hour bike times
1 GU every hour
2 Salttabs every hour (I sweat like a pig)
2-4 bottles of water/hour - drink most, pour the rest over my body with remainder

T2
Just Water and 2 Salttabs

Run
1 Gu every 30 minutes (This lasts for about the first 1/3-1/2 of the marathon..then I can't physically take in any more GUs)
2 Salttabs at the top of every hour
Start taking in Pretzels and Water at every aid station after the first 1/3 of the marathon.

That's about it.

I have never experienced any GI pain or cramping, just frequent bathroom breaks which are less than relieving.

I have not experimented with solid foods in training, and I imagine that would help, but I was curious how others have altered their nutrition for long-course races.

For the record, my IMs were Cozumel (2014), Muskoka (2015), Los Cabos (2016)

Taking 2017 off from long-distance.

Thanks everyone.
Quote Reply
Re: Runs on the Run [Deacon Frost] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
That's funny; I found Trevor Wurtele's plan a good place to start for myself, but only in terms of calories per hour since we're the same size.