Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Road Bike for Triathletes
Quote | Reply
I had been doing triathlon for 3 years and I use a Cervelo P2C. this year I got a mountain bike but I don’t get to use it that much since the trails are far away from my house. Now my question is:

I’m thinking to replace my mountain bike and get a Road bike for cross training but I would like to know if you think the road bike help me on my training and performance or it will be the same as using my tri bike. I notice some triathletes have a tri bike for race and road bike for training.
Quote Reply
Re: Road Bike for Triathletes [SuperCervelo] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I love riding my road bike. I would say unless you plan on group rides or crits, keep the mtn bike. or try to find a cheap used roadie where you can have a 3 bike stable.

There are plenty of used bikes here, ebay, etc. Keau
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I like the road bike for base miles, because I can't help but hammer on my tri bike. Its designed to be aero and to be ridden fast and hard, and that's what I do when I ride it. I like to ride my road bike to get lots of base miles in, and I also use the road bike as my crappy weather bike. I'll ride it in anything except ice. The tri bike is my sweet ride, and I keep it for nice weather days, races, and for the build phase leading upto races.

Proud Member of the Cervelo Mafia.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply

Perhaps consider getting a cross. Can still ride in groups, a little better for crappy weather, plus you can commute on it. If you have a lot of wheel sets to choose from this could be perfect.

I have a tri-bike, road bike, fixed gear, and a mountain bike. I am actually considering getting a cross, plopping my power cranks on it and commuting on it on some days that I don't feel like riding the fixed.