Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Reynolds wheels
Quote | Reply
I searched on the forum looking for some review/comment/opinion on reynolds wheels, but wasn't able to find a specific thread, if I'm wrong my apologize.
I have no experience with the brand, but since I'm in the market for a pair of wheels for triathlon races and training, what are you thoughts about

2017 Reynolds Aero 80
2017 Reynolds rzr 92 (only tubular)

alternative
Zipp 808 NZR
Quote Reply
Re: Reynolds wheels [paolo.s] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
RZR and the aero series are quite dated now. the aero series are very good in cross wind handling with a 58mm generally handling like a Zipp303 for example.
They were wide when they come out but others are wider now.
Paul Lew who designed both of those wheels is now at Edco wheels.
They use pointed style rims but use a trip edge molded into the rim near the rounded tip.
The RZR are basically a more easily manufactured version of his original Lew Wheels.
Braking on the lower end Reynolds like the Assult has never been good with many melted wheels in the field.
Both the higher level wheels are good in that department and I know of no heat related failures.
I think you will find that newer wheels are faster.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Over the years, I have had 3 sets of Reynolds wheels. No problems with any of them. I still have all 3 sets. I'm a 180b rider or less when in shape. Roughly 210 right now.

1. Older KoM wheels. Nice, Very light. Didn't use them much. Maybe 1500 miles. They were a smidge lighter than my original Zipp 202s with the reddest carbon. These have a 185 lb weight limit.

2. Older set of Assaults. Prior to the addition of the "swirl lip generator". Replaced rear hub with a Powertap G3 because I wanted to. Probably 20,000 miles on these wheels. They are my "everyday wheels" on one of my bikes.