Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Rapp's Garmin Varia Article
Quote | Reply
I'm a tech-whore. So I want to like this thing.

But I don't quite get the purpose of this thing. What good is it knowing a car is approaching from behind? From my perception our relationship with cars approaching from behind is essentially one of pure trust. We just trust we're not going to get creamed. Is it supposed to allow enough time for evasive maneuver? That just seems unlikely given that with tight passing distances (~3 ft) and huge differential in speed it's impossible to distinguish a polite passing car from a run-over until it's basically too late.

Or is it merely for situations where you're "taking the road" on a low-traffic road, and it allows you notice of approaching cars so you can politely gutter yourself to let a car by - maybe an issue with very silent cars like hybrids.

Now in the future, I could see bike-to-car communication that would engage the brakes on a car getting too close. That's a real benefit, and I'd stand in a long line to get that device (and car).

I just don't "get" the current Varia.
Quote Reply
Re: Rapp's Garmin Varia Article [trail] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I don't have the Varia, but I can see exactly where it's useful.

It's def not going to be useful in any sort of roads where there are lots of cars whizzing by all the time like city or urban streets. You don't need a Varia to know they're buzzing by you, all the time, and that you should never drift left.