http://www.justice.gov/...uary/13-civ-224.html

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Speed Concept 9 (race)
Madone 5 (training)
Trek 1000 (rain/snow/sleet/monsoon)
Quote Reply
Re: Lance: it goes from bad to worse... [mikegarmin4] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Thanks. I tracked down the complaint and read it last night. It's pretty much like I thought - it's a False Claims Act suit. I'm not an expert in False Claims, but it shouldn't matter that the US benefited financially from the transaction. The damage is that the US was defrauded of money. As a matter of policy, the government does not like to be defrauded of money - the False Claims Act, with its severe consequences, directly reflects that policy.

Mike Sparks

I have competed well, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.
Quote Reply
Re: Lance: it goes from bad to worse... [Sparks] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Just curious, what is LA likely doing with all his money right now? Is he putting it in his kids' funds, giving it to his kids' mother(s), creating offshore accounts, buying gold and burying it is his backyard, buying a house in Florida, etc.? What can he reasonably do semi-legally to avoid paying out all these potential claims? Can the US and other civil suits be covered by bankruptcy?

Damn, that's a cold ass honkey.
Quote Reply
Re: Lance: it goes from bad to worse... [Freelancer] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Although people are saying this is huge news, I hardly think so. The dickhead is worth $125M. Even if he has to personally pay out $60M, I doubt that will impact him much with $65M left. The pompous prick will still be flying in his private jet.

Quote | Reply
AJHull wrote:
Although people are saying this is huge news, I hardly think so. The dickhead is worth $125M. Even if he has to personally pay out $60M, I doubt that will impact him much with $65M left. The pompous prick will still be flying in his private jet.

Ok, tell us how you really feel
Quote Reply