Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Question for the coaches and coached
Quote | Reply
Am I getting my $'s worth with my coach? (between $150-$200/mo)

I've been using an online coach for about 2 months now after many months of anguishing about using a coach. I'm a MOP'r that needs help optimizing my training, pacing a nutrition/hydration. For the first month or so, the workouts that my coach delivered via Training Peaks were great. The time matched the intervals plus warmup/cool down and the intensities made sense for the period of training. I could roll out of bed and execute the plan. Lately however, my coach has been posting workouts that I have to decode/modify because they don't work by themselves. For example, the ride might be listed as a 2+30, but the warm up and intervals only take 1+15 leaving me to determine what training zones/intervals/emphasis I should with with a large amount of my training time. I've also been given running workouts listed as 1+15, but the intervals and distance are at 11-13 mile run when my likely pace is 8:30-8:45. Thus, I'm having to determine what to fix between mileage, time, interval composition.

I have asked my coach a couple of times to avoid doing this, but I'm still getting a couple of 'canned' workouts per week, but they are some key workouts. It's eroding my confidence in him as I don't feel like I'm getting much more than an expensive canned training plan.

Finally- if you're still reading, how much does your coach debrief your workouts? I.e., ask you why you didn't nail parts of a workout or tell you to hold back when appropriate?

Thanks!
Quote Reply
Re: Question for the coaches and coached [boneillf16] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply