Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Puking in high heat
Quote | Reply
Hi Folks,
I'm new here, and hoping to get some advice / pointers on a problem that has marred my season this year and I need to fix by next year, namely that I am prone to vomiting in high temperatures and it's ruining all my races.

I'll go into the details of 4 events shortly but in short when I am at Z3 or above in temp of 35 degrees or more it seems to result in my vomiting lots of fluid, unable to hold down fluid or foods which quite quickly results in me having to stop, here is how my season has panned out (I'm a beginner, but this is not my first year of Tri so I don't think nerves are an issue)

Mallorca 70.3, ate quite a big breakfast and probably drunk too much coffee then had a drama trying to source a new transition bag after getting done for bag marking (I know, I know). Felt mildly sick before the swim but pulled it together on the swim which resulted in a significant pb (by over 4 mins). I had myprotein tricarb in the bottles on the bike (I use this stuff all the time), had a gel abut 10 mins into the bike then part of a powerbar at the bottom of the climb. Started feeling sick on the climb, was sick. Suffered Di2 failure after the climb which resulted in me doing the rest of the bike leg with two gears, but wasn't sick much after. Total consumption was 1x gel, 3rd of a powerbar and 3x bottles of tricarb

A few mins into the run was feeling the heat and feeling sick, after the first aid station i was sick (lots of liquid) and the remainder of the run was spent sipping coke, feeling the heat and feeling thirsty and stopping to chuck up loads of liquid, my run time was about 20mins off a reasonable time for me to give an idea of the extent of the problem. Heat on the run upwards of 36deg