Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Power questions
Quote | Reply
I see many references to Coggan's book. (I plan on ordering it). Are there any other books that talk about power/suggested workouts for IM training? I am getting an SRM with my new bike. Does it come with analytical software or is that something I have to get aftermarket? I have been cut and pasting the threads here about FTP, IF, NP and anything else I can find.

Thanks.

S-Man
Quote Reply
Re: Power questions [Superman] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Get the book and Cycling Peaks. They go hand-in-hand.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
You want to get CyclingPeaks software. I just got it recently, though I've been training with power for over 3 years now. The OEM stuff does not even come close to helping you understand the metrics like CyclingPeaks does...unless you want to constantly plug figures to come up with the "Normalized Power", Training Stress Score (TSS), and IF figures that CP software provides. I can't believe I waited this long to get a copy of CyclingPeaks. Don't do like I did.
Quote Reply
Re: Power questions [TriBriGuy] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Thanks. I just ordered the book. Amazon's one-click ordering system is dangerous. I can show a little restraint when I have to take the time to fill out an online order form, but when all I have to do is click once it is easy to make impulse purchases.

Does Rich Strauss have any literature out there? I plan on using the 2 x 20 min (2" rest) to figure out my FT.

Thanks again for the info.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
You won't find much IM specific training advise in the Allen/Coggan book, but you are on the right track with Strauss. Check out his forum, and his IM training plans with power are by far the best value out there when it comes to the whole package. And you will want Cycling Peaks software with your power meter.
Quote Reply
Re: Power questions [shaner] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Shane,