Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Power Meter, so confused
Quote | Reply
I'm relatively new to the sport. I competed briefly five or so years ago, and I am starting to get back into it more seriously (as seriously as you can with 2 kids under 18 months and a full time job). I have done a fair amount of reading online, and plenty of stalking on these forums, and it seems as if a power meter is a must for my training. The problem is I have no idea where to start. I ride a 2012 Specialized Shiv comp rival, completely stock besides the saddle. I do a vast majority of my riding indoors, first due to the cold northeastern weather and also due to a bad crash I had and fear of going out on the road. I am 6'3 and weight 190 lbs.

Should I get a crank meter or one in the wheel hub? Are there any concerns I should have about it fitting or working with my bike? If I get one for the hub how do I know if its compatible with what I have or would I need to make other changes (to be honest I don't know exactly what the numbers associated with the chain rings mean).

Thank you in advance for anyone who is willing to help. I know this has probably been answered a million times.

Ben
Quote Reply
Re: Power Meter, so confused [bfinz] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I'd start by reading this if you haven't already:

http://www.dcrainmaker.com/...ide2014-edition.html

Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
My experience is mostly with wheelhub-mounted powermeters (aka the powertap).