Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Peaking
Quote | Reply
I've been doing triathlons for about 4 years now and I still don't really understand the issue of peaking. I understand the theory and I have read tons about it but the actual putting together a training plan to accomplish it is confusing. So I have been asked before if I felt like I was in peak shape for a race. I don't really know how to answer that. So, if one were to just train hard and notice improvements for several weeks in each discipline, does there come a point where you actually start getting slower because you hit your peak? I have always just trained hard and then tapered before a race. I have done two 70.3's and one IM. I have read a lot about the subject but can't get a clear grasp on what types of workouts to do at different stages of a plan. I know you have a building a base phase where you do low intensity workouts. So do you just increase the intensity with each new phase of the plan? For example I just read an article that broke down the phases of a plan. First phase was base phase and it just said to do easier workouts to build aerobic endurance but don't push it hard this early. Second phase was building aerobic capacity, power and speed through sustained efforts. Third phase was high intensity intervals for speed. So, does this mean in the second phase you do longer intervals at a more intense effort and then the third phase you do REALLY hard intervals for shorter time? Is it that simple? I have always included hard intervals at every phase of my training. Are you not supposed to push hard in your workouts until the last phase of your training? I have lots of questions but I'll just leave it at that. Does anyone have any good explanation?
Quote Reply
Re: Peaking [mchadcota2] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
mchadcota2 wrote:
I've been doing triathlons for about 4 years now and I still don't really understand the issue of peaking.