Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Okay, here's the Phelps discussion thread [Slowman] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
"the USOC is a quasi-federal extension of the national government, less arms-length from the government than government-sponsored for-pofit companies like fannie mae. it's been granted federal statutory standing as the single entity of its kind, charged with federal governance, federally protected from competition."

I'm not sure I understand why this aspect means so much to you. I'm a Naval Officer, and I could absolutely be reprimanded, fired, etc for conduct in my private life that might be completely legal. I have punished Sailors for things like that myself. Many career fields have morality clauses or codes of conduct integrated into their hirng/firing systems, and yes, those codes are somewhat subjectvie. When you sign up and agree to the code, you do so with an understanding that you are subject to the moral views of the people who hired you.

Slowguy

(insert pithy phrase here...)
Quote Reply
Re: Okay, here's the Phelps discussion thread [slowguy] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply