Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Offroad racing tips & quesitons
Quote | Reply
I'm doing my first off-road race this weekend. It's a duathalon: 3r/18b/3r.

I've never done a mt bike race before (I ride frequently, just never raced), what are the passing rules and etiquette for mt biking? Since there is typically a lot less room to pass others on trails, I wasn't sure what people normally do..for passing another, and what you should do when someone needs to pass during a race?

Do things get jammed up on these kind of things?

Second..what do folks normally do for water...do you take bottles, or is using a camel back more common on mt biking races? On this race there won't be any water stops on the loop, so you will need to take a couple bottles or camel back.

Any other tips on things to to do or don't do for mt biking races?

Thanks
Quote Reply
Re: Offroad racing tips & quesitons [Endo] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Pre ride the course if at all possible. If you think you are going to pass someone , try to think and look ahead and pick a good spot to pass - wide or uphill(narrow forces the slower rider to interupt their rhythm, and downhill is harder to pass unless the other person is not any good at all technically compared to you or the other person brakes, which again is not very nice at all for their results), where you can make progress and not force the other ride to stop or give up the only good line if possible, but be sure to yell track (not sure if duathlon would be exactly the same as NORBA here...) to let them know you are coming. If you can hear someone closing on you, try to look ahead for yourself for a spot where both of you can fit on the trail, and signal the other rider ahead. At least in NORBA, it was in the rules that you have to let someone faster pass you - blocking is not good sportsmanship.