Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

New to triathlons
Quote | Reply
As post says, I'm a noob. And first and foremost, kudos to all of you hardcore athletes, I have the utmost respect for your efforts. Little about me, former military (Army infantry) and since then I got a little "bigger". I'd be in the top ten if you were picking a team to get out of a bad bar, but the last if you were picking a run relay team. I've dropped about 65 pounds so far, and completed my first sprint last weekend, so I'm getting there. I'll never be world class, and I'm good with that. Couple questions though: first bike, Cervelo P3 di2. Any issues? It fits me well (I was low and long, and this frame "fit me") per a professional. Second, wife is doing 1/2 IM, and looking for suggestions on food intake during race. 100 or so calories per hour is her thinking now, but open to ideas. Thanks in advance, and again nothing but respect to all of you.
Quote Reply
Re: New to triathlons [Cmatthews7] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
You'll get more replies, but for the 70.3 distance, I think the general rule of thumb is 250 calories per hour during the bike.
Congrats on getting into the sport! P3 w/di2 is a nice bike!
Quote Reply
Re: New to triathlons [SBRcoffee] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Ok, so she should be looking at 250 per hour during the bike? And run is what? Any thoughts on what? So, so many articles and products out there, I'd love to here from some real world experiences on what people like, what is convenient, etc. She is bigger framed/build, so she isn't looking to get to Kona, but she is competitive and does well in most tris in her category. And thanks again!
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply