Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

New bike - Ebay vs. Local Bike Shop
Quote | Reply
I am looking into a new Triathlon bike. I have a 6 year old Cannondale Multisport, and its time to upgrade. I have been cycling for many years, and feel qualified to pick the right bike on Ebay - but you never know how a bike fits and feels until you ride it. So enters the debate on whether to go to a bike shop and pay full price, or go through Ebay and save lots of money. The Tri Bike shop in my town is very good, has plenty of selection and I know will do a professional fit and make sure I get the perfect bike. But is this all worth the $1000 plus I'll pay extra at a bike shop (over the same bike lightly used on Ebay)??? Another option is to pay for a professional sizing and then pick the frame that best fits my size on Ebay - but I will still be buying a bike I've never ridden. The final option is to test ride the bikes at the shop and then buy on Ebay - but I think that is just wrong. By the way, I'm looking to spend in the $3000-4000 range if that makes a difference.

Any input? Which is the best way to go?
Quote Reply
Re: New bike - Ebay vs. Local Bike Shop [adiffen] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
LTS... make friends with the people who know. Also if they will be servicing the bike then DEFINITELY go to LTS.

This coming from a former LTS employee who would cringe (inside) when customers mentioned EBAY.

36 kona qualifiers 2006-'23 - 3 Kona Podiums - 4 OA IM AG wins - 5 IM AG wins - 18 70.3 AG wins
I ka nana no a 'ike -- by observing, one learns | Kulia i ka nu'u -- strive for excellence
Garmin Glycogen Use App | Garmin Fat Use App
Quote Reply
Re: New bike - Ebay vs. Local Bike Shop [aus_tri] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
In Reply To:
LTS... make friends with the people who know. Also if they will be servicing the bike then DEFINITELY go to LTS.

This coming from a former LTS employee who would cringe (inside) when customers mentioned EBAY.