Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Mechanic on here
Quote | Reply
Hello,

I am new to this forum. I am a very amateur triathlete but I am also a professional bicycle mechanic with extensive knowledge in bicycles. I consider my industry a struggling profession with a lot of imposters. If you ever feel you are given bad info from a shop, I will be happy to give you a second opinion or justify there comments depending on the situation. I look forward to talking with you all.

Kurt
Carolina Pedal Works
Quote Reply
Re: Mechanic on here [kurtholtzclaw] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Thank You Kurt,

I'm sure you will be a busy man on here. I had a local bike shop tell me that some of the chain degreasers(Simple Green,Pedros) actually are too rough on chains and can not only remove the exterior dirt and oil but get inside the chain and cause damage?? Do you have an opinion either way?

Steve
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Welcome to the forum. I am curious to what type of mechanic do you consider imposters? And if you have any recommendations on finding the right ones? Like any easy tell tell signs.

I have and know a few great mechanics in my area now, but would to hear more (for when I inevitably move, etc.).
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Kurt !
Thank you for taking the time to help us. Here is a good one for you. Trek SC, DA Di2, brake shifters and bar end shifters (2 buttons) battery last at the most 2 weeks. One battery was replaced by Shimano under warranty, apparently was bad...Did the software updates and found system all good. Ride between 500 to 1000 a month, flat and normal amounts of shifting. Something is draining the battery when not in use it seems. Could it be that every time you check the battery status by pressing any shifters buttons and hold till status light lit up the system doesn't go back to sleep mode ?

Thanks !
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
You will indeed be busy here! :) A lot of us here wrench on our own bikes.