Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Kona
Quote | Reply
I have never done Kona before but am racing there this year. Advice?
Quote Reply
Re: Kona [triklutz] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Through qualification or lottery?
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Ride as hard as you can until the turn around. From there it's all downhill with a tailwind so plenty of time to rest up for the run.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Ask Julie Miller. I'm sure she has analyzed the shit out of that course.
Quote Reply
Re: Kona [get2T2] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Legacy.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
What kind of athlete are you? I have done the race twice 2012. 2014, both times it was really windy. I think first enjoy the experience, get there early and acclimate. Acclimation is key, swim often as possible, break the bike course up and ride each part. As for race the strategy that would be dependent on the level of athlete you are and your goals. Since you have raced at least 12 IM races you know what you are doing so I think it comes down to pacing and nutrition. Riding in wind and heat changes everything. Good luck! Make sure you go to the ST party..
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
triklutz wrote:
I have never done Kona before but am racing there this year. Advice?

http://badig.com/.../10/advice-for-kona/

Here's my advice.....

Badig| Strava

Quote Reply
Re: Kona [tjfry] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Thanks everyone! And love your summary Badig!
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Stop by and see us at the pier every morning demoing Goggles and Speedsuits for free. Then come to the expo and see us as we will have our 2016 Phantom wetsuit on display and a chance to win one as well as some other cool stuff.

Also try to enjoy the whole thing. It's really an amazing experience and I haven't even raced there.

TJ nailed it in his blog... We can set you up with some goggles so you'll be able to see on your swim out to the coffee boat...

(/end of my shameless plug)

jake