Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

In the run of an Oly - what's more important, heart rate or pace?
Quote | Reply
In the run of an Olympic distance triathlon, what do you think is more important to monitor?
- heart rate (meaning, I need to make sure I don't blow up by exceeding this HR threshold)
- running pace (I am slacking at 6:30 pace, need to bring it down to 6:15. Don't care what my heart rate is)
I'd submit that for a sprint distance, focus on pace. For 1/2 and full Ironman, heart rate.
But what about Olympic?

Traditionally I err on the heart rate side. Though I think that might be too conservative.

Thoughts?
Quote Reply
Re: In the run of an Oly - what's more important, heart rate or pace? [twain] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Train by numbers, race by feel!

Numbers are for guidance in a race - if you use them at all.

Trust me I’m a doctor!
Well, I have a PhD :-)
Quote Reply
Re: In the run of an Oly - what's more important, heart rate or pace? [PhilipShambrook] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
PhilipShambrook wrote:

This is a good rule, but obviously racing on feel relies on your experience of racing. I personally try to use all the data at my disposal to set my pace, usually following the rule feel > pace > heart rate.

So generally start out at an effort that feels hard but sustainable and check that the pace numbers are sensible given your training data. After one km, even if I feel like crap and am running slowly, if my heart rate says I'm still in Z2 I'll try to push the pace and hope I feel better (or at least not feel any worse) once I settle into it; similarly if I'm way into Z4, dial it back a bit at least for the first half of the run. Running to a set pace or heart rate and ignoring all other factors would just be ridiculous.
Quote Reply
Re: In the run of an Oly - what's more important, heart rate or pace? [PhilipShambrook] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
PhilipShambrook wrote:

+1