Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Ideal pool vs OWS ratio?
Quote | Reply
Is there an ideal ratio? Does it depend on the person?

Assume no money or time cost difference. You have a pool (50m) and a lake in your backyard and the air temp is always a steady 70F. Which do you use and why?

I assume if you are a good swimmer, you would do near 100% pool, as it is more controlled and you can work on your fancy swimmer sets.

The reason I ask, is I have been doing the 98% pool 2% OWS plan for the last 2 years. Got a little faster in the pool I guess.. but totally suck at OWS still. Have yet to finish out of the bottom 1/3 of swimmers in a race (whereas I am top 1/5 runners and maybe top 1/4 bikers).

The swimmers will call me stupid, but really tempted to do 95% OWS for the rest of the summer. Yes I won't do a lot of awesome 50m and 100m sprint sets. But getting comfy in the water seems a lot more useful than dropping another 2s off my pool time (when I don't race in the pool).
Quote Reply
Re: Ideal pool vs OWS ratio? [copperman] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
In triathlon, open water training is extremely important if you are performance oriented. But very few group do it properly with specific purpose. That is the main issue at this point.

While my squad isnt the norm, from june to mid september, the group will do 90% Open water, 10% pool.
The 10% pool is for when the condition are not good in the lake, lightning, big storm, cold weather etc.

Mostly everyone is swimming faster than they ever did in there life in races. Results speak for themself.

That said, the open water sessions are very controle, with timer/clock, course/boey, accurate mesure distance, race simuation. Me as a coach on a paddle board at all time, video when needed.