Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

IM Arizona
Quote | Reply
Is this race good for a first time Iron distance? Any thoughts or suggestions would be great. I am from SC with no hills and warm water. I have been doing tris for about 4 years with the longest distance a 1/2. I want to step up to this distance and want to have a good experience.
Quote Reply
Re: IM Arizona [551017] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I am a big fan of IMAZ. It is one of my favorite races. I have done both of them so far and I am registered to do it again next April. I think that it would be a good race for a first time participant.
Quote Reply
Re: IM Arizona [konaby2008] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Thanks for the info. Can you give me any details? I understand the swim is in a lake. How is the water clarity? I also understand it is cold water do most people use a full wet suit or just a farmer john. The bike profile doesnt look bad is it a loop coarse and the run how is it. Sorry for asking so much I just want to make sure what to expect before I pay to enter.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Swim is a single loop, you start out by swimming straight into the sun, people complain about the water clarity, but it seems just like any other lake swim to me. Getting out of the water requires climbing up a series of steps.

The bike is a multi-loop course. in 2005 in was 3.5 loops and last year it was 3 loops. Some people complain about that but I personally like it. It was helpful in pacing for me. Also I had not scouted the course prior to the race and with each loop I was more familiar with the surroundings which I liked. It can be windy. The 2005 race was one of the windiest races I have ever done.

The run was 2 loops in 2005 and 3 loops in 2006. I liked the 3 loop course better. It is good for spectators and you get to see people that you know watching the race more frequently.

As with all IMNA races it is very well organized and supported by the community.