Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Hookless - I Have Questions
Quote | Reply
This piece just came out about the hookless drama, which seems reasonably neutral, discusses safety, and dispels what seems to be some ignorance brewing in the media hype cycle. (nice writing, Dan!). I have questions.

I was going to ask Dan a single follow-up question to the article but realized I had many more questions, some of which are probably better answered by some of the users of this forum. I would love to have facts presented with some indication of the confidence level in the answers given. Statements like "n=1" or "I'm an engineer specializing in carbon bicycle wheels" are helpful for personal context too. :)

First, I had two overarching questions which are what led me to the longer list of specific questions below.
  1. Market Curiosity: Does it seem to you that hookless is a sufficiently large step backwards in the non-riding parts of the user experience that the detriments outweigh the benefits too much for hookless to take off in the market completely like disc brakes did? Or is it just a matter of learning and time?
  2. Decision-driving: Do the tradeoffs lean in favor of me purchasing hookless for my wife's next race wheelset? (I don't race seriously and only use hand-me-down components from my wife).
I realize what I really need are answers to specific questions. I need to know the reported benefits and tradeoffs, and their veracities and magnitudes.

Accordingly, here are some specific questions. I've written the questions as simply as possible. We could also add: "if so, by how much, how variable is it, how sure are we, and how did we come to those conclusions?" If answers are "it depends" and you can contribute, I'll be appreciative.
  1. Are hookless more aero?
  2. Do hookless create lower rolling resistance? (assuming optimized mounting and inflation of hookless and hooked)
  3. Do hookless weigh less?