Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Help! Where to place bottles on my new Felt IA 14
Quote | Reply
Hi all -

I just recently purchased a Felt IA 14. LOVE LOVE LOVE this bike. I am racing Lake Placid 70.3 this summer. Suggestions for where to place hydration (with pics)? I would like to put a "regular" bottle between the aerobars (not a fan of the ones with the straws - prefer a regular bottle) and one behind the seat I think. I picked up a XLab Aero Cage optimizer mount so I am thinking I can use that somewhere?

I'm not a newbie triathlete by any stretch. On my old Felt (11 years old) I had 2 bottles behind the seat using a Minoura mount and a profile cage that held 2 bottles. That, however, is heavy. I'd like to try to go lighter.

Thanks!
Quote Reply
Re: Help! Where to place bottles on my new Felt IA 14 [uptown423] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I am watching this thread, because I have the same questions. I have done a ton of upgrades to my IA16, but my hydration has not been very strategic so far. I have a Cobb JOF saddle, so I have their seat hydration bracket with 2 bottles. I originally had an XLab Torpedo 500 on the stock bars. When I upgraded to Tririg bars, I moved the XLab cage and bottle over, but not the rest of the Torpedo 500 assembly. I also have a cage on the down tube that is empty, except to store an empty bottle during a race if I cannot discard it in time.
  • I am curious about other BTA bottle options, since I can pretty much use any cage and bottle with the Tririg Alpha X bracket.
  • I am curious about potentially better or more aero rear seat brackets or hydration options (and why better)
  • I am curious about whether I should totally remove the down tube cage and never put anything there (for this, I will need to improve my race refill skills)

Quote Reply
Re: Help! Where to place bottles on my new Felt IA 14 [uptown423] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply