Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Going from road riding to trainer?
Quote | Reply
Indoor ST pros -

As part of my training I do swim/cycle bricks on Tuesday and Thursday evenings. The route is always the same with varying efforts based on RPE, weather, etc. The ride is 40km on the dot, however due to traffic and other conditions outside of my control, my moving time is anywhere between 1:10:00 to 1:45:00.

I have never used a trainer before, and I just got one (a basic one). I don't want to get a less quality ride than I do during the week already. Can you train on a trainer by 'distance'?

Should I train by time?
Should I train by RPE or HR?

I will still be doing my long rides on the weekends on the road.

I don't have a power meter.
Quote Reply
Re: Going from road riding to trainer? [Frostocalypse] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Not a pro, but here goes.

A trainer workout is only as good as you make it. You can make it any workout you want, from a constant grind to an easy-peasy Sunday afternoon ride. The trick is knowing what you want out of your workout before you get on the bike, and then adjusting accordingly.

That said, while you could technically train by distance (using a sensor), the distance won't mean anything since wheels spinning indoors bares no relation to what's going on outside. Training by time is far easier.

What do you want out of your time on the trainer? (Same question you'd ask on the bike, ideally)
Last edited by: timbasile: Sep 22, 14 19:09
Quote Reply
Re: Going from road riding to trainer? [timbasile] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
timbasile wrote:
Not a pro, but here goes.

A trainer workout is only as good as you make it. You can make it any workout you want, from a constant grind to an easy-peasy Sunday afternoon ride. The trick is knowing what you want out of your workout before you get on the bike, and then adjusting accordingly.