Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
DIY Carbon Fiber (w/ pics)... UPDATE
Quote | Reply
After reading greg kolodziejzyk's amazing blog and seeing all the cool things he's made, I decided to take a stab at making my own aerodynamic CF bits.
I have zero experience with carbon fiber, but purchased and learned everything I needed to know online. It was all surprisingly easy and cost less than $100.

1) Started off with something simple. Spindle plugs and cover for my crank.

2) Carbon fiber 'Jonnyo Special' It turned out rock solid and could easily have been made for 2 bottles.

3&4) Still in the works: A carbon "P4 speed box" for CO2, levers, tube, etc. and aero bar waterbottle mount.
I'll post some shots when it's finished.

Last edited by: rmcboy: Jan 12, 11 20:26
Quote Reply
Re: DIY Carbon Fiber (w/ pics) [rmcboy] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Fantastic stuff. I'd love to have a go at something like that myself. Could you share some tips and where you bought the materials / equipment.

cheers
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Agreed, this looks awesome. Kudos to you for doing all this work. I'd also like to see a list of materials/tools you used to do this so that when I have some more free time I can maybe maybe try it out.
Quote Reply
Re: DIY Carbon Fiber (w/ pics) [MAnton] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I bought the 'starter kit' from carbonmods.co.uk.
It basically contained epoxy resin, hardener, some CF cloth(roughly 1'x3') and some other junk I really didn't need(mould release wax, gloves, popsicle sticks and paper cups for mixing). I would have bought it off ebay, but the only guy selling it wanted a crazy amount to ship to Canada.
I also used:
-scissors to cut cf cloth
-duct tape to cover your surface/bike (epoxy won't stick to it)
-adhesive spray to stick cloth in place before wetting with epoxy
-dremel tool to trim cured pieces
-sand paper
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply