Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Conconi test and HR deflection point...
Quote | Reply
Just read this: http://www.biomed.cas.cz/.../pdf/2005/54_473.pdf which is an explanation by Conconi's group of how to conduct the conconi test to get a HR deflection point in most subjects. Interesting read. Here is my question, what is the significance of the HR deflection point physiologically and what is it's significance performance wise? It is supposed to be an estimate of the AT but is it? Does it correlate reasonably well with real world performance measures like CP60?

Just looking for some info from someone who is more current than I am. Thanks.

Mike
Quote Reply
Re: Conconi test and HR deflection point... [Mike Prevost] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I am no expert, but mine seems to correlate fairly well. I do mine on the treadmill and on the bike trainer.

David
* Ironman for Life! (Blog) * IM Everyday Hero Video * Daggett Shuler Law *
Disclaimer: I have personal and professional relationships with many athletes, vendors, and organizations in the triathlon world.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Andrew C is going to pipe in hear any second to give you the 411 on the Conconi test. I took one a while back and the data was a little skewed.

60 min or 40k TT yield the best results. Take average heart rate over the test and thats your Functional Threshold.....

Mg
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Good follow on article that answers some of my questions: http://jap.physiology.org/...ontent/full/87/1/452

Gives a decent explanation of why Conconi might have found such a high correlation between his breakpoint and LT when others do not.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
OK, one more, HR deflection may be related to K accumulation: http://bjsm.bmj.com/cgi/reprint/36/2/113

Mike
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Dang...just one more. Maybe it is a stroke volume thing: http://jap.physiology.org/cgi/reprint/98/5/1660