Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Columbia Tri
Quote | Reply
Anyone know what the numbers look like for the Columbia MD tri? The website doesn't list participants or I'm to dense to find it.

How did last year go with the new org running it?

Steve
Quote Reply
Re: Columbia Tri [srussell] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I can't speak to the numbers this year, but I am signed up to participate in part based on my experience last year. There was so much uncertainty that I wasn't sure there was even going to be a race at all. I would say that given the last minute switch, the organizers did a very good job. The swim was canceled through no fault of their own, but everything else went well and was very organized. I would expect that with a full year to plan and prepare, this race will go very well--and hopefully we get to swim. I am a relative novice, however. Last year was only my second tri.

I do really like the smaller field; especially compared to my hometown race--the Nation's tri. Opposite ends of the spectrum. The intimacy of the Columbia race was great, I thought. Plus, nice scenery and a seriously challenging course. The hills, man. The hills...
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
In response to a thread here, the director said it was around 1600 people a couple of months ago.
Quote Reply
Re: Columbia Tri [Kevin in MD] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Thanks Kevin and Nick,

Wow, didn't realize it was that big. Almost back to the #'s from a few yes ago. Why ws the swim cancelled last yr - goose poop and rain???
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Something along those lines. Too much bacteria in the water. But to answer OP last year was very very well done. Any gripes I had were very minor, but all things I think they can fix for this year. Really wish I was going this year!
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply