Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Can I run faster?
Quote | Reply
The wording of question is purposely specific. I’m interested in people’s opinion on whether I can realistically run faster. Of course, if someone honestly thinks I can than I want to know how, but I’m wondering whether I should give up on that dream.
I’m 57, I’ve been racing tri’s in one form or another for about 24 years. I’ve consistently been on the podium for 20+ years (last year I won my AG at Oceanside and St. George, and got 2nd & 3rd respectively at Xterra Nationals & Worlds. I just got 3rd in my AG last Sat at Oceanside).
I was a Div 1 swimmer, and my swim splits are excellent. My bike split is always among the best, and I don’t feel wasted off the bike (I pace well – my power numbers are typically smooth the whole way). My run splits are poor in comparison. At Oceanside on Sat for example, I swam ~28, biked ~2:36 and ran ~1:46. I did lose about 7 min on the bike to the top two spots in my AG, but I lost over 10 min to 2nd and 13 min to first on the run. My running has pretty much always been limiting.
The run at Oceanside was extremely well paced: my pace and HR data from my Garmin are essentially flat lines that actually slope up slightly on the 2nd lap, and I was completely spent with fried legs afterwards. I keep a high cadence of about 88 rpm, my HR was pegged at 135 bpm which is right at threshold for me (my HR runs low – I had a VO2 max test done this winter, and apparently showed 110 as my AT). My pace works out to about 8:10/mi. I had a video form test this winter as well, and adjusted to a better midfoot landing.
I’m lean at about 161 lbs (this week) at 6’. I do have heavy lower legs, and I have a leg length difference.