Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Cadence Sensor or Power Meter or Both
Quote | Reply
I am pretty new to biking, but just bought a pretty nice set up. I am considering getting a cadence sensor since I seem to often be in the wrong gear when going up and approaching hills, but I have also been told that I should get a power meter instead and watch my wattage. My garmin watch has a candence sensor that you can purchase and is also compatible with several power meters. Should I get one or the other or both??? Thank you.

"Wait.....and Hope" -Edmond Dantes
Quote Reply
Re: Cadence Sensor or Power Meter or Both [BambooKing] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
How much disposable income do you have?

Erik
Strava
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
You just need to spend alot of time riding your new bike. Don't worry about the toys for now. You don't need a cadence sensor to know when you are in the wrong gear. You will get a feel for that by just riding the bike. Ride the bike lots for a year and if you are still into this stuff, then buy a powermeter (it comes with a cadence sensor anyway).
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
powertap comp wired with cadence sensor. <700$ new.
Last edited by: SeasonsChange: May 17, 10 10:00
Quote Reply
Re: Cadence Sensor or Power Meter or Both [mcdoublee] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
The garmin cadence sensor is about $40.00. I am willing to spend up to $300.00 on one or both.

Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
You could maybe find a used wired powertap for $300.

Erik
Strava
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
it'd be tough to find a powermeter for $300 (but powermeter does have the cadence sensor included). i'd get the garmin accessory or just a cheap bike computer that has a cadence sensor hooked up. learn to ride with your cadence in the 90's (or higher). a lot of beginner cyclists will mash around at 60 or lower on a flat, easy ride.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
PT, no question. It doubles as a cadence sensor if you really want one.