Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Buying a mountain bike
Quote | Reply
I have no real mtn bike experience but want to take advantage of some of the trails in Austin and hopefully do some xterra racing late this year or next season.

How important is tire size? The bike I'm looking at (http://www.scottusa.com/category.php?UID=317) is a kids' frame with 24" tires. I also tried out an adult-sized frame with 26" tires, but it felt like a mile to the ground. I was a lot more comfortable on the 24" tires but was told that I'd be better off with the 26" ones because of clearance.

What else do I need to know about buying a racing-suitable mountain bike?
Quote Reply
Re: Buying a mountain bike [austin79] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Get a scalpel, you'll be happy

"Oh you hate your job? There's a support group for that, it's called EVERYBODY and they meet at the bar."
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
You will need the bigger wheels if you ever want to go over a log. Bigger wheels go over objects better with less effort on the rider's part. Go for 26" and you will not regret it.

Go to the shops you like and try out everything you like. I looked at Cannondale Prophet/Scalpel, Iron Horse Azure, Santa Cruz Superlight, and Jamis Dakar XC before going a whole other direction.

On that note I just picked up a '05 Giant NRS Composite 1 at my local Performance. I was there to look at other XC rides and they just happened to see this bike with a big frame off to the side and thought I'd throw a leg over and try 'er out. Turns out to be just the bike I was looking for: no bob of the suspension, accelerates and climbs great, and still will not leave me with a sore back and butt. (That and I got a killer deal.)

Performance is dropping Giant as a brand and things are priced to go, so if you have one close to you it may be worth checking out.

Do not buy by your wallet. Let your butt and endorphins tell you what to buy.
Quote Reply