Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Bike Trainers
Quote | Reply
I am new to Triathlons and was wondering what would be a good bike trainer for a beginner (Cycleops, Kurt Kinetic). I live in Michigan so it gets rather cold here. Thanks.
Quote Reply
Re: Bike Trainers [birnstar] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I have thousands of miles on my cycle ops direct drive trainer with a 105 cassette and could not be happier. Worth paying a little more IMO!

"I would definitely smell her seat after a century ride"
Rappstar wrote:
That might be the post of the year right there.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
http://www.dcrainmaker.com/...recommendations.html

Though some posters will caution you on the Kickr -- that's what I have and I enjoy it.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Recommend a used magnetic cycleops to most people who start out. Would set you back under 50 if you're lucky/patient. Tops out at ~350watts with 53x10 at a comfortable cadence (~80).

Predictable power curve if you choose to utilize virtual power; or you can grab a powermeter with money saved.
Quote Reply
Re: Bike Trainers [Nonojohn] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
For example something like Cycleops Magneto?!
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Direct drive trainers are soooo nice. Do yourself a favor and try to ride on a few different types to find what works for you. Most decent bike shops that sell them have at least one set u. Call around see who has what, and go take your bike for some spins.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I know you're looking now, but in the spring a lot of bike shops will have the trainers they used for the indoor training season for sale. My KK Road Machine was acquired that way at about half the retail price.